Planning a trip to Los Angeles?

Foursquare can help you find the best places to go to.

Avis Car Rental

Avis Car Rental

Rental Car Location
West Los Angeles, Los Angeles
Save
Share
5.7/10
530
ratings
  • Tips
    Yousif D.
    "Fast car rental and frequent shuttles available to terminals"(7 Tips)
    Jenz M.
    "Avis preferred is free and they were perfectly lovely to deal with."(5 Tips)
    BC O.
    "Preferred service desk is the way to go"(2 Tips)
    Cindy B.
    "Tires needed air but otherwise good service."(4 Tips)
Tips and Reviews icon121 Tips and reviews
Filter:
  • shuttle
  • lines
  • friendly staff
  • airports
  • takes reservations
User icon
Log in to leave a tip here.

Sort:
  • Popular
  • Recent
  • John W.
    John WeberJuly 9, 2013
    Don't let the people at the counter choose your options. They swindled and lied to me. I don't know if this will post but here: http://pinkanddink.com/avoid-avis-unfair-charges-lying-customer-service/
  • Loretta H.heart icon on user image
    Loretta HuiOctober 24, 2016
    When they don't have your car ready they hide it by offering the deceptive "free upgrade". But it's really just giving you a different car they have instead, and sometimes it's a downgrade so beware.
  • Lady Mel M.
    Lady Mel MaldonadoApril 2, 2013
    Been here 25+ times
    Definitely one of the Avis center that could use help with customer service. It's very spotty!!!! Leave a little extra time...
  • Chairman T.
    Chairman TingOctober 7, 2018
    Check the condition of the tires. They've given me a new SUV with virtually no tread and even a huge gash. These guys have no regard for you and your family's safety. Shame on them!
  • Dean J.
    Dean JLOctober 29, 2018
    My rental was prepaid and the agent (Gabriel) added over $300 of extras to my booking, never once asking if they were required. He never said the name of these extras, the cost, or what they were for.
  • Desiree D.
    Desiree DeganFebruary 27, 2018
    Commission based reps+ under-staffed+ hour wait @ 10pm+ jetlag= Geoff swindling a tired pair into a "free upgrade" b/c our car wasn't ready and tacking on upgrades we didn't ask for for an extra $800!
  • Nikuheart icon on user image
    NikuNovember 5, 2020
    Been here 50+ times
    If you’re lucky enough to meet Nia, you’ll be in GREAT hands. One of the nicest and most caring avis employees I’ve ever met.
  • Clinton™
    Clinton™February 13, 2014
    Handicap tag get you straight to the airport. No need to ride the bus, just stop by car return for inspection and they take you to the airport.
  • Abby S.
    Abby SchutteAugust 16, 2013
    Reserved a car in advance and waited 2 hours on line in the sun to pick it up. Good job guys really.
  • Aaron W.
    Aaron WellerNovember 26, 2012
    Been here 50+ times
    Always get the loss damage waver its only 9$ and you will save yourself a headache if anything happens. 9 bucks for peace of mind
  • Terance L.
    Terance L.January 3, 2023
    Be sure to have a USB C to USB C cable or adapter that will convert your USB-A to USB C. Issued a vehicle that the cigarette adapter didn't work and the stationary inlet was USB C
  • Ryan M.
    ZipCars live here! Super convenient access to/from the terminal on the Avis bus. Easy day trip or way to spend extra time before a flight.
  • etta y.heart icon on user image
    etta yMay 31, 2016
    Watched multiple shuttles for other companies go by until the packed Avis one finally materialized. Same deal in both directions, about a half hour wait.
  • Jeb B.heart icon on user image
    Jeb BlountApril 1, 2015
    This could possibly be the worst AVIS location in the US. I rent from Avis almost every week and nowhere is the service like this. It's like the people working here just don't care.
  • Desiree D.
    Desiree DeganFebruary 27, 2018
    Disgust for Geoff, who lied to our faces + scammed an upsell (they're on commish after all)! Prepaid in advance, but still waited behind 20+ in line (only 2 reps) + surprise $800 extra in charges!
  • Stephen B.
    Stephen BickfordNovember 21, 2011
    Sign up for preferred status for free and you won't have to bitch about waiting like all these others leaving tips. Check-in took 5 min, car with 5k miles, automatic check-out. Too easy.
  • ✨Isabelle V.
    You can't choose a car. They give you one. Our gps broke down several times! They gave us another one but you loose a lot of time when you're travelling.
  • BC O.heart icon on user image
    BC OApril 5, 2019
    Preferred service desk is the way to go
  • Tom P.
    Tom PerryAugust 5, 2012
    Been here 30+ Mins. and I'm still outside the bldg. out of 20 costumer stations 7 are manned and the are slow. no sense of urgency on their movements. scale of 1 - 10, this office is negative 1
  • Maui Hawaii
    Maui HawaiiJuly 15, 2012
    Become Preferred or use a different company. Still in line and it's been an hour. Didn't know about it before now.
  • Timothy C.
    Timothy ChiuJune 14, 2013
    Line is really long and they picked off some people off the end to go to a building to the left of the main counter. Some people went there directly - shorter line
  • MICHAEL S.
    MICHAEL SJuly 13, 2012
    Avis desperately needs automated terminals. I've rented with every rental car agency and I've never had a 45 minute wait just to find out what car I have.
  • Carrie P.
    Carrie PaxsonJuly 29, 2017
    four agents, MANY customers. writing this from the middle of the lineup after waiting 40 minutes already.
  • Lisa B.
    Lisa BarlowDecember 24, 2011
    Crazy clusterfu*k and took an hour but Ofir is the nicest, most helpful, friendly Avis guy ever! Yay Ofir!
  • Danny
    DannyJuly 31, 2022
    Some clerks are so concentrated on selling their extra products and insurance...!!! So annoying~~~ I am loyal to Avis but... not sure for how long
  • R J.
    R JFebruary 2, 2013
    Been here 25+ times
    DO NOT forget anything in the car. Getting ahold of the post and found from home is a nightmare and getting things back is almost impossible!
  • Rob M.
    Rob MehtaSeptember 19, 2013
    Bring a beverage and prepare to wait
  • Michael C.
    Michael ClarksonAugust 11, 2013
    Ron, the bus driver was the best part of the trip!
  • MVQ
    MVQJuly 9, 2013
    Yucky. Every time I come here the line is insanely long!
  • Rosy C.
    Rosy COctober 9, 2014
    No kiosks. You'll be in line forever. Wish I had signed up for preferred
  • Martin M.heart icon on user image
    Martin MiOctober 17, 2015
    Been here 5+ times
    Excelent service. Fast checkin and checkout with preferred program. They even let you choose a car type and if you don't like it just take any car from special take&derive zone.
  • Charles E.
    Charles E.January 27, 2016
    Been here 5+ times
    Leave yourself plenty of time to drop off the car and wait on the bus back to the airport. Very stressful!
  • ✨Isabelle V.
    You can't choose a car. They give you one. Our gps broke down several times!!
  • William C.heart icon on user image
    William CalderaJuly 23, 2014
    Expect about an hour to get a vehicle if you don't have Avis preferred.
  • Melissa D.
    Melissa De SantisJuly 31, 2018
    Horrible service, longest line I’ve ever been in. Shuttles were great, but once I got to place to pick up my car it was a nightmare.
  • David C.
    David ConcepcionNovember 11, 2011
    Kimberlyn is the nicest australian attendant in the world. Great service with a smile.
  • Walterheart icon on user image
    WalterDecember 27, 2012
    Never change the plan for renting you contract before! Never ask for an upgrade they abuse in the charges of your rental period! Pay atention they may steal you!
  • Greco
    GrecoSeptember 10, 2021
    They gave me a car that had a start/stop issue. The car stalled on me twice on the road. They won't even deliver me a replacement car. Had to go back to LAX. And the issues didn't stop there
  • Yangzhi Z.
    Yangzhi ZhaoJuly 29, 2011
    Alma at the Preferred Service Desk is the best! She will take great care of you.
  • Laura M.
    Laura McCarthyAugust 14, 2013
    You will wait outside in line for over one hour, and then get a car that hasn't even been cleaned inside.
  • Lance M.
    Lance MuranagaSeptember 1, 2018
    Can be a longggg wait. Arrive early
  • Chris M.
    Chris MuirJuly 20, 2013
    Worst. Wrong car parked in our spot. Didn't notice because all midsize Chevy's look the same. Had to go back through line twice. Turns out it was the right car mislabeled on contract. Boo.
  • James M.
    James MJuly 6, 2011
    Long, slow lines to rent AND return a car. Shuttle to airport was convenient and came often though.
  • Stephen P.
    Stephen PapageorgeJuly 22, 2011
    Never seen a line move slower... 4 representative stations open... 3 people in front of me... 35 minutes. You do the math. I would pay 2x as much to use Hertz at this point.
  • Jeremy M.
    Jeremy MurphyJanuary 22, 2013
    Been here 5+ times
    Pretty horrid employees and service
  • Carl B.
    Carl BrochuOctober 13, 2013
    Super slow on Friday night, took >1 h to get a car out of there
  • Jamie P.
    Jamie PoleDecember 10, 2011
    One of the best Avis locations in the USA. Newer vehicles, and great employees.
  • Dy Y.
    Dy YellowhorseApril 20, 2018
    Very friendly service!!!
  • Lisa C.
    Lisa ClarkDecember 9, 2011
    Super nice people. Dropped car off early and they gave me a ride back to hotel. Avis they try harder!
  • Will W.
    Will WongJanuary 5, 2012
    Return your car within 10 minutes of the time or they'll charge extra
Photos352 Photos

Related Searches

  • avis car rental los angeles •
  • avis car rental los angeles photos •
  • avis car rental los angeles location •
  • avis car rental los angeles address •
  • avis car rental los angeles •
  • avis rent-a-car los angeles •
  • avis rentacar los angeles •
  • avis bus lax los angeles •
  • avis car rental los angeles •
  • avis lax los angeles •
  • avis preferred lax los angeles •
  • avis rent a car los angeles •
  • avis rent-a-car los angeles •
  • avis rentacar los angeles •
  • avis rental car los angeles •
  • avis car rental west los angeles los angeles

Foursquare © 2024  Lovingly made in NYC, CHI, SEA & LA